Skip to content

ohhh, Larisa Oleynik

June 19, 2009

In this week’s installment of girlsihaveabigcrushon, allow me to introduce the star of Alex Mack, the Baby-sitters Club movie, and 10 Things I Hate About You, LARISA OLEYNIK.

The first time I saw Larisa (is it okay if I call you Larisa? Really, I feel I’ve spent enough of my life with you that it’s okay if we call each other by our first names) was in the Baby-sitters Club movie where she starred as activist and earth-day lover Dawn Schafer, thus cementing my love of people who a) wear braids and b) give a shit about the environment.

https://i2.wp.com/www.childstarlets.com/lobby/bios/portraits/larisa_oleynik12.jpg

Fact: activists LOVE braids.

Little did I know that my own pre-pubescent obsession with her would only increase the moment I saw her as Alex Mack in The Secret World of Alex Mack. I mean really, overalls and a backwards hat on a girl who was involved in a freak chemical spill and subsequently developed magical powers? I think this show was designed for 9 year old me…

http://themixtapemonster.files.wordpress.com/2009/03/larisaalexmack.jpg

Not only could she spontaneously melt into a puddle, but she could rock those overalls like no other

I had forgotten about Larisa until she surfaced again in the perennial favorite 10 Things I Hate About You.  Bianca Stratford, how many many things you taught me.  I never would have known that you can just be whelmed in Europe, I have never forgotten that you don’t buy black lingerie unless you want someone to see it, and I finally know that there is a difference between like and love (Because, I like my Skechers, but I love my Prada backpack).   When you finally chose Cameron, I cheered because there was hope for nerds like me, and when you punched Joey in the face, I nearly cried I was so proud of you.

https://i1.wp.com/www.kinoweb.de/film99/10ThingsIHateAboutYou/pix/tenthb6.jpg

Pensive? Damn. I was going for thoughtful.

So, thank you, Larisa.  Thank you for teaching me such valuable lessons during my formative years and making me realize that some people really can look good in overalls.

Also– I hear that they’re casting lesbian vampires in True Blood. I think that project would be perfect for you. Give them a call. Really.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. alexandrajmiller permalink
    June 19, 2009 2:09 pm

    i’m not a lesbian, but i have a major major girlcrush on larisa oleynik. it’s hard to put into words how much i appreciate this post. ❤

  2. June 21, 2009 12:00 am

    I love what you are doing here. Keep up the good work!

    Tina

  3. December 12, 2009 8:45 am

    i love larisa oleynik. i am her avid fan. thanks for posting her here. i browse blogs talk about her and i spotted yours.

  4. annie permalink
    September 29, 2010 8:33 am

    i love larissa “alex mack”… i watched her show when i was a teenager. i dress up like her… i missed her a lot… how i wish to see her again… i want to see her too in TRUE BLOOD

Leave a Reply

