Skip to content

Words I learned in Hawaiian from “Forgetting Sarah Marshall”

June 24, 2009

1. Kunu- “Chuck”

[You can be like Kunu too and have your own Hawaiian name, and forget how old you are. Just remember, the weather outside is…weather]

I stopped wearing a watch when I came out here, but my phone has a clock on it.

I stopped wearing a watch when I came out here, but my phone has a clock on it.

2. Wiki-wiki- “real fast”

3. Puna- “coral” [hahaha]

4. Mahalo! – this might be a synonym for Aloha? I really never quite picked that up.

5. Humuhumunukunukuapua`a- the state fish of Hawaii. YEAH BITCH.

Essentially, this movie has taught us more about ourselves than any trip to the psychiatrist ever could ( I hate the psychiatrist…see below). Watch it, over and over again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. alexandrajmiller permalink
    June 24, 2009 2:17 pm

    team.bly. can we get the hawaiian name changer thing up here? i want to find out what my name is! mahalo!

Leave a Reply

