Skip to content

Why I’m about to be ($0.99 x 12) poorer

July 7, 2009

So apparently “record companies” (aka The Man, sorry Kelly) haven’t been thrilled with online radio companies like Pandora and AOL Radio providing their products to the masses for free. I can’t imagine why. I love Pandora. And in all seriousness, Pandora has probably led me to buy more music from iTunes than I would have on my own. But w/e. The Man hates Pandora.

For awhile, it was rumored that disagreements over royalties would mean Pandora would have to shut down, which would lower my quality of life by about 47.6%.

But. BUT.

Pandora announced today that they’ve reached an agreement with the record companies to continue operation, and they’ll pay them a percentage of profits. Which is fine. Who cares.

But. BUT. To help pay for it, Pandora is capping the number of hours you can listen for free at 40 hours per month.

After that they’ll charge you $0.99 for unlimited listening until the end of the month.

(Highway robbery. Duh.)

(Highway robbery. Duh.)

Highway robbery, in my opinion.

Jk. I heart Pandora so much, and I’d gladly pay the price of 12 iTunes songs per year for unlimited amazingness.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2009 9:18 pm

    I absolutely agree. Pandora and other music sites have lead to be buy double the amount of songs I would normally buy.

    Another cool site to check out is Last.fm incase Pandora gets into more trouble with the “The Man” as you stated it.

  2. DirtyHippie permalink
    July 7, 2009 10:58 pm

    Oh, I am almost certain that any sort of “lets take down Pandora” operation started right here in the very building in which I work. If you have ever attempted to watch a video on YouTube that has had the sound muted, it probably has a little red line at the bottom that says “sound deleted by WMG due to copyright violation.” There is a certain shithead of a person here *cough* Kevin Weaver, Senior VP of Atlantic Records *cough* who gets suuuuuuuuuper pissed about free sharing websites and social networks–he is a TOTAL nazi about it and like, wanted to sue YouTube or something for using music (even though a lot of the videos SHOULD be considered “fair use” but WHATEVER)so I bet he shat a brick when he found out about Pandora. To be fair however, it is REALLY easiy to rip off music from Pandora or YouTube etc, so I sorta understand the reasoning, even though I don’t agree with it…Because really, Pandora HAS led me to buy many a song from iTunes, and I think it is absolutely the future of radio.

    God I love Pandora…nothing can stop it.

  3. March 10, 2010 9:04 am

    Aha, now I know the origin of that particular fly in Pandora’s ointment. I was just complaining about that. I don’t have an issue with the price so much as the fact that they let you use up most of your hours before they even tell you about this situation, which I find dishonest.

Leave a Reply

