Skip to content

Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?

November 3, 2009

So does everyone remember that time this summer that all those celebrities were in DC and I was the only one that saw one? I do. In case you didn’t almost come running out of your office to confirm my sighting of JAKE GYLLENHAAL on M street at Dean and Deluca (there is obviously a reason we love this place so much), let me remind you: I saw Jake Gyllenhaal at the Dean and Deluca on M and Wisconsin Potomac.

That’s not really the cool part. The cool part is that not only did Jake and I make eye contact (helllooo), but he was dressed just like me. For the record, this says more about me looking like a little boy 75% of the time than about Jake being a woman, which I don’t think he is (though @workchucks can correct me- is he a secret ghey?). He was wearing a gray v-neck American Apparel shirt (how original), chucks (though not of the work variety, these were grungy like MINE!), a straw fedora (see any of the many pictures on the “facebook” in which a member of the #team is wearing my straw fedora, either in SSR or the DR), and Ray Ban Clubmasters! I have fake Clubmasters!

Retro, or "now-tro" if you will.

You know those times that people say celebrities should be their friends? Well, even if Jason Segel should be my friend, Jake should be my shopping buddy. Jason and I couldn’t shop at the same stores- I don’t fit in oaf clothes.

What made me think of this? Well, it was kind of roundabout. I was stealing music off blogs because I’m a poor grad student and I can’t afford the new Brandi Carlile album OR the Glee Soundtrack. I want them both, so take note potential Chanukah-gifters. I stumbled upon this, which almost made jappy cry into her coffee (note: she should be crying. she’s not coming to london, where the weather is fine and the girls are finer). Anyway, couldn’t find the Glee soundtrack, and couldn’t find the new Brandi Carlile single which is awesome by the way. BUT (BUT) I found this, and it’s better. See below.

Two things I love: Brandi Carlile and Donnie Darko, which is a really stupid movie to love I know I KNOW, but I like it, ok? So lay off. If you haven’t seen it, you should, but if you don’t like it don’t come crying to me. Maggie Gyllenhaal is in it though, so you should like it.

SparkleMotion

The entire movie is worth it for this one part.

Please consider this rambling an endorsement of the Gyllenhaal family (mostly Maggie), Ray Bans and Brandi Carlile. I didn’t mean to get all caught up writing about Jake Gyllenhaal and Sparkle Motion, but I did so suck it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. jappy permalink
    November 3, 2009 5:26 pm

    I didn’t ALMOST run out of my office. I DID literally sprint out of my office to confirm your sighting.

  2. jappy permalink
    November 3, 2009 5:28 pm

    also, the song brought tears to my eyes. I’m emotionally fragile right now.

  3. TALL permalink
    November 3, 2009 5:30 pm

    also did you forget where dean and deluca is? because M and Wisconsin is CATEGORICALLY WRONG.
    however, every other aspect of this post = LUB. particularly, LUBCHU! and jake. who is not gay. i can’t bear it, he’s too dreamy and i just love him too much for him to be sexually unavailable to me. you’ve been warned reese witherspoon. i don’t care how cute your kids are.

  4. Afrika permalink
    November 3, 2009 5:39 pm

    oh fuck shit balls. this is what happens when i have an entirely new map to memorize. i’m losing my dc skillz.

  5. chefhooles permalink
    November 3, 2009 7:22 pm

    that song popped up on my pandora yesterday, and although i love that movie, i hate that song.

    ah gotta run i’m burning cabbage apparently. FUCK.

Leave a Reply

