Skip to content

Things I’ve learned today.

June 2, 2010

1. The gender neutral bathrooms in my workplace have a urinal outside of the stalls. If I see one of my boss’s thingies I’m going to hurl.

2. Switching between three computers all day is both confusing and annoying. I keep trying to do Mac things on PCs and vise versa. Big problems, I know.

2. Old straight, white men have the Elks. Or, you know, the Shriners. Old gay men (and the occasional woman) who like to drag? They have the International Court System. See? We’re just like everybody else! In drag!

Yes, the International Court System is a group of badass drag queens that get together to do good deeds, be it work to pass EDNA, register voters, or raise money for the Matthew Shepard Foundation.

They all have names like Empress Nicole the Great, who’s the current Queen Mother of the Americas as well as being the organization’s Executive Director and spokesperson.

They also have protocol for state visits, accords with partner organizations, and are having their upcoming Imperial Anniversary gala in Lexington, Ky. (Kentucky? Really Papi? Really?)

They’ve raised literally millions of dollars in their 45 years of existence, and done it all while looking fabulous.

It makes me feel just a little bad I can’t bother to put on mascara before heading to work in the morning.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Afrika permalink
    June 2, 2010 12:46 pm

    Things I’ve learned today: WorkChucks can’t count.

Leave a Reply

