Skip to content

Dispatches from The West

February 20, 2013

Hola Dear Readers! 

 

DirtyHippie Here! This message is being beamed to you through the good ol’ series of tubes allllllll the way from the wild wild West (Hollywood, that is). That’s right, DBIH-ers, since you last heard from me I made the move, via cross-country road trip through the Confederacy, to the godless City of Angels. 

Image

 

More specifically, I moved to West Hollywood, also known as Gay Man Mecca (all the lesbians are in Silver Lake). 

Image

The above is the crosswalk on the corner of San Vicente and Santa Monica Blvd. Our city council voted to approve funds to paint the sidewalk into a rainbow (which also just so happens to be our city flag). It’s fantastic here. I mean yes, it is far more difficult to find straight male suitors in my immediate vicinity, but that aside, the lawns are manicured, the dogs are be-sweatered, and every time one of my fabulous neighbors gives me a compliment on my outfit I feel like I have won the cosmic lottery. 

Aside from extolling the virtues of my city, here are some snapshots of what else I have been up to: 

 

-Attending graduate school to get a very real degree. No really, an MFA is totally legit…

-Knowing far too well how real this blog is.

-Collecting various sculptures and ceramic statues of birds, specifically chickens. 

-Memorizing the rap from No Scrubs. (If you can’t spatially expand my horizons, then that leaves you in a class with scrubs, never rising.) 

-Occasionally seeing Jane Lynch in the coffee shop next to my apartment. 

-Refusing to stop spamming Jappy’s facebook wall with New Girl quotes, and always attempting to play True American. 

-Counting down the days until Coachella 2013, with Special Guest: Tall. (50 days from today, by the way) 

 

That’s pretty much it. Please do show some comment love down below, while myself and my good friend/giant bouncing chicken sculpture Rodney go back to watching The Walking Dead. 

 

xoxo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2013 12:18 pm

    Several things:

    1. Your city flag is a pride flag?
    2. WE HAVE TO PLAY TRUE AMERICAN. Phoebe will play with us. Can you come to DC to visit and all we’ll do is play?
    3. I love bird trinkets. Specifically bluebirds.

  2. dirtyhippie permalink
    February 21, 2013 3:02 pm

    YES OUR CITY FLAG IS A PRIDE FLAG! Did you think I was kidding when I said this was gay mecca? I was not. All the West Hollywood Sheriffs patrol cars have pride flags painted on the doors. We do not play around here.

Leave a Reply

